Four Manitoba Students Earn Loran Scholarships

Published February 10, 2019 15:15


Four Manitoba students have just been selected as Loran Scholars – among 35 recipients of Canada’s most comprehensive undergraduate scholarship for character, service and leadership, it was announced Friday.

The new 2019 Loran Scholars from Manitoba are Bethany Kolisniak of St. Mary’s Academy and Churchill High’s Mesgna Mesgna, from Winnipeg and Neepawa Area Collegiate’s Kailyn Hanke and Grandview School’s Taron Topham.

The Loran Award is valued at $100,000 over four years of undergraduate study, including a $10,000 annual stipend, tuition waivers from one of 25 Canadian universities, mentorship, summer internship funding, an orientation expedition in Algonquin Park as well as annual retreats and forums.

More than 5,000 students applied this year, and the top 88 finalists travelled to Toronto for national selections last weekend. The interviewers selected 35 Loran Scholars from across Canada based on evidence of character, commitment to service in the community and long-term leadership potential.

Mesgna founded an after-school program that partners with his local Boys and Girls Club to encourage youth to delve into academics and athletics. He works as a head coach and is a 2018 SHAD fellow. Mesgna was selected for the opportunity to shadow Green Party Leader Elizabeth May.

Back to all news

Copyright © 2023 BGC Winnipeg